Instant Pot Red Curry Lentils

 

I was gifted an Instant Pot over the holidays and I use it almost exclusively to make these comforting, delicious vegan curry lentils! This is a satisfying 30-minute meal and is perfect for busy weekdays. I have the recipe memorized which makes this even quicker to prepare. I guarantee you’ll have it memorized too once you give it a try!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups dried red or brown lentils, rinsed and picked over
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 medium or large yellow onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 3 tbsp red curry paste (make sure it’s vegetarian friendly)
  • 2 teaspoons ginger paste (I use the tube of paste that’s found in the produce section of your grocery store)
  • 1 – 15oz can of tomato sauce or tomato soup concentrate (I use whatever I have on hand!)
  • 1 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 4 tsp sriracha (use less for a less spicy version, or omit completely)
  • 1 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar (omit if using tomato soup concentrate)

Ingredients to add after pressure cooking:

  • 3 tbsp vegan butter or coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup to 1 can of full-fat coconut milk (depending on how creamy you want it; I usually use a whole can just so I don’t have leftover)

Method:

Add all ingredients except butter/coconut oil and coconut milk to your instant pot. Seal the lid and make sure the vent is set to “sealing.” Select High Pressure and set the timer for 15 minutes. If you want to serve the lentils with rice, which I recommend, now is the time to start the rice cooking.

Once the time is up, carefully quick release the pressure using a wooden utensil. Once the pressure pin drops, open the lid and add the butter/coconut oil and the coconut milk. Give it a good stir and taste to make sure it has enough salt and spice. Serve over rice or as a side dish.

20200119_115104
How your lentils should look before adding the butter and coconut milk. Yum!

Leave a comment