Vegan Coconut Curry

Oh, man. I discovered curry a couple years ago and I have never looked back. It’s rich, spicy, creamy, hearty, and just hands-down delectable. There are numerous preparations, but this is by far my favorite. I won’t say that this is a traditional curry based on the basic, inexpensive ingredients I chose. But hey, I’m a college grad paying my loans and sometimes a nice, cheap meal is exactly what my stomach (and bank account) needs!

This particular curry is vegan thanks to the coconut milk. I usually add tomato paste or tomato sauce to my curries, but this one is just coconut milk and a lot of spices. If you have never tried curry before, this is my go-to recommendation. It’s sweet, spicy, and full of flavor.

Vegan Coconut Curry

  • 1 can full-fat coconut milk or coconut cream (I prefer Goya brand)
  • vegetable stock (or water) as needed to thin the sauce
  • 1 large potato, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 of a medium-size yellow onion, julienned
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas*
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons red curry paste (I prefer the paste over powder because it has a stronger flavor)
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric, for color
  • 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • a dash of dried ginger

*Note: You can add or omit a bunch of other vegetables, like bell pepper, mushrooms, asparagus, bean sprouts, fresh roma tomatoes…the list goes on.

Begin by boiling the potatoes in salted water until tender. As they boil, prepare your mise en place. Chop all of the veggies. Add the onion and garlic to an oiled saute pan over medium heat. Saute for 2 minutes or until soft. Add the can of coconut milk and all of the spices (except garam masala). Add stock or water and then allow the sauce to reduce. Once the sauce has reduced and thickened up a little, add the vegetables and cook until soft. Finally, toss in the cooked, drained potatoes and stir to coat. I like to serve this over some salted basmati rice with caraway seeds, but you can eat it as a stew or with noodles as well!

 

Leave a Reply

