Pizza Night!

Last week my partner and I were trying to decide what to make for dinner…we wanted to do something we’ve never done before, he suggested pizza, and we both agreed in a nanosecond that homemade pizza was the choice! For him, we made a pepper, pepperoni, and pineapple pizza, which he said was delicious. I’m not sure about the combination myself, but it’s been years since I’ve eaten pepperoni so I don’t know that I can weigh in on that! For myself, I decided on a classic margherita pizza. Regrettably, we didn’t make our own crusts – definitely something we will be doing next time. For the sake of time (we were hungry, damn it!) we used pre-made, pre-rolled crusts reminiscent of cheap frozen pizza crust. Good thing I pulled out all the stops for the toppings!

The reason I chose a margherita combination is because not only is it a delicious, classic combination, but for Christmas, my partner’s parents surprised me with some 18-year aged balsamic vinegar de Modena from a local oil and vinegar shop called Vinaigrette.

To make the pizza,  I layered down a generous amount of sauce (“Never enough sauce!” in my partner’s opinion), drizzled the sauce with an herb-infused extra-virgin olive oil, dotted that with fresh mozzarella pearls, a seeded and diced roma tomato, and kosher salt and fresh-cracked black pepper. In to the oven it went, and right when it came out I drizzled a generous amount of the syrupy, mellow balsamic all over the pie. Garnished with a chiffonade of basil, this pizza was hands-down one of the best I’ve had, topping-wise.

The nice thing about pre-made crust is that it lends itself well to a quick dinner that everyone loves with a lot of options for both creativity and restraint. Picky eaters can make their own ‘za, and meat-lovers can go all-out without bugging us veg-heads. I’ll keep you all posted for my first attempt at pizza dough!

Leave a Reply

